TREND

Gorpcore

Put on your hiking shoes, your zipped fleece, your warmest down jacket and let's go!

At the mountain ? No, just in the street.

In collaboration with@jeanne_toinon

© WGSN

Understand everything about the gorpcore style

At the end of the 2010s, the fashion world took over mountaineering and hiking clothing to create the aptly named Gorpcore style. It was Balenciaga, Gucci, Moncler and The North Face who hijacked outdoor clothing and transformed it into premium fashion essentials. We explain how these clothes were transformed to create one of the coolest styles of the moment.

© WGSN

Where does Gorpcore come from?

Gorpcore is a trend that combines style and practicality. Derived from "GORP", an acronym for "Good Old Raisins and Peanuts", the term refers to the mix of rugged outdoor clothing and casual wear. The magic recipe? Fuses hiking shoes, cargo pants, technical jackets and down jackets with a touch of luxury branding; and you get the Gorpcore.

The trend has gained popularity due to its emphasis on comfort, practicality and durability, embodying a sense of nostalgia for the great outdoors, even when worn in an urban environment. It was seen as a reaction to fashion standards that were more restrictive and less practical, and grew as more people sought more versatile clothing.

-

Why is Gorpcore a lasting trend?

In an age where comfort and functionality are increasingly appreciated, Gorpcore style offers the perfect combination of utility and fashion. The latest pandemic also played a significant role in the rise of this trend. People now want natural settings and even if they can't go to the mountains, they can at least give the impression of going there.

Publications like The Cut and Vogue have written extensively about this trend, which likely helped popularize the term and the style itself to a wider audience. Gorpcore fashion is often associated with brands like Patagonia, The North Face, REI and Arc'teryx, among others, who were producing this type of outdoor gear long before the term "Gorpcore" appeared in our lingo.

Our guide to wearing Gorpcore

Gorpcore outfits are made up of functional clothing inspired by outdoor and adventure equipment. Here are some key elements to adopt the style.

For the upper body:

Down jackets or down jackets: usually with a high fill rate for maximum warmth.

Fleece sweaters: These can have a partial or full zip to convert into a jacket and are either bright or natural colors.

Waterproof Jackets: A lightweight, waterproof jacket can be a good layering item.


For the lower body:

Cargo pants or hiking pants: These have many pockets and are usually made from a durable, quick-drying fabric.

Rain pants: light and waterproof, they can be layered over other pants if the weather requires it.

For accessories:

Belt bags or fanny packs: a basic item for carrying the essentials without the need for a full backpack.

Beanies or caps: Depending on the season, a hat can add an extra layer of warmth or protection from the sun.

Backpack or day bag: Usually from a well-known outdoor brand and with several compartments.

For the shoes:

Hiking boots: sturdy, durable and often waterproof.

Running shoes: a lighter option that still offers good grip and support.

Trouve ton coup de cœur parmi tous les produits de la sélection ✨

Filter and sort 30 products
Gender
Product type
Brand
Availability
Color
Size
Sort by

TREND

Gorpcore

On met ses chaussures de rando, sa polaire zipée, sa doudoune la plus chaude et let's go !

À la montagne ? Non, juste dans la street.

En collaboration avec @jeanne_toinon

© WGSN

Tout comprendre sur le style gorpcore 

A la fin des années 2010, la planète mode s'est emparée des vêtements d'alpinisme et de randonnées pour créer le bien nommé style Gorpcore. Ce sont Balenciaga, Gucci, Moncler et The North Face qui ont détourné les vêtements de plein air pour les transformer en incontournables de la mode premium. On vous explique comment ces vêtements se sont transformés pour créer l'un des styles les plus cools du moment. 

© WGSN

D'où vient le Gorpcore ?

Gorpcore est une trend qui allie style et aspect pratique. Dérivé de "GORP", acronyme de "Good Old Raisins and Peanuts" (bons vieux raisins secs et cacahuètes), le terme désigne le mélange de vêtements de plein air robustes et de tenues décontractées. La recette magique ? Fusionne chaussures de randonnée,  pantalons cargo, vestes techniques et doudounes avec une touche de marque de luxe ; et tu obtiens le Gorpcore.

La tendance a gagné en popularité en raison de l'accent mis sur le confort, la praticité et la durabilité, incarnant un sentiment de nostalgie pour les grands espaces, même lorsqu'elle est portée dans un environnement urbain. Elle a été perçue comme une réaction aux normes de la mode, plus restrictives et moins pratiques, et a pris de l'ampleur à mesure que de plus en plus de personnes recherchaient des vêtements plus versatiles.

-

Pourquoi le Gorpcore est une trend qui dure ?

À une époque où le confort et la fonctionnalité sont de plus en plus appréciés, le style Gorpcore offre l'alliance parfaite entre utilité et esprit fashion. La dernière pandémie a également joué un rôle important dans l'essor de cette tendance. Les gens ont désormais envie de décors naturels et même s'ils ne peuvent pas aller à la montagne, ils peuvent au moins donner l'impression de s'y rendre.

Des publications comme The Cut et Vogue ont beaucoup écrit sur cette tendance, ce qui a probablement contribué à populariser le terme et le style lui-même auprès d'un public plus large. La mode Gorpcore est souvent associée à des marques comme Patagonia, The North Face, REI et Arc'teryx, entre autres, qui produisaient ce type d'équipement de plein air bien avant que le terme "Gorpcore" n'apparaisse dans notre jargon.

Notre guide pour porter le Gorpcore

Les outfits Gorpcore sont composés de vêtements fonctionnels inspirés des équipements de plein air et d'aventure. Voici quelques éléments clés pour adopter le style.

Pour le haut du corps :

Doudounes ou vestes en duvet : généralement avec un taux de remplissage élevé pour un maximum de chaleur.

Pulls en polaire : Ils peuvent avoir un zip partiel ou total pour se transformer en veste et sont soit de couleurs vives, soit de couleurs naturelles.

Vestes imperméables : une veste légère et imperméable peut être un bon élément de superposition.

 
Pour le bas du corps :

Pantalons cargo ou pantalons de randonnée : ils comportent de nombreuses poches et sont généralement fabriqués dans un tissu durable à séchage rapide.

Pantalons de pluie : léger et imperméable, il se superpose à d'autres pantalons si le temps l'exige.

Pour les accessoires :

Sacs ceinture ou sacs banane : un élément de base pour transporter l'essentiel sans avoir besoin d'un sac à dos complet.

Bonnets ou casquettes : selon la saison, un chapeau peut ajouter une couche supplémentaire de chaleur ou de protection contre le soleil.

Sac à dos ou sac de jour : Généralement d'une marque connue dans le domaine de l'outdoor et doté de plusieurs compartiments.

Pour les chaussures :

Bottes de randonnée : robustes, résistantes et souvent imperméables.

Les chaussures de course à pied : une option plus légère qui offre toujours une bonne adhérence et un bon soutien.

Trouve ton coup de cœur parmi tous les produits de la sélection ✨

Filtrer et trier 30 produits
Genre
Type de produit
Marque
Disponibilité
Couleur
Taille
Trier par :